Brows on a Budget: NYX and E.L.F.

DSC_0430 (3)

For the longest time I was obsessed with others eyebrows and how perfect they could get them looking. After doing some research I found some alternatives to the expensive brow gels and creams (such as the $18 Anastasia Dip Brow) that work almost just as well!


DSC_0491 (2) copy

NYX Tinted Brow Mascara: The first product I want to talk about is this brow mascara from NYX. It retails for $7 to $9 depending on where you buy. This mascara has a tiny brush which you just brush your brows into place. I have quite dark hair so my color is in Espresso. The brush is just under the size of a quarter which works well for your brows. When brushing into place you can go over in layers to achieve the correct shape and color. I usually go over twice since I sometimes miss spots. This product dries fairly quickly and will not budge until removed with makeup remover. The best part about this product is that if you make a mistake you have enough time to quickly smudge it away, so you can really get those flawless brows. This is my go to product on a daily basis since it takes two seconds to apply.

DSC_0431 (2)

E.L.F. Eyebrow Kit: I own two shades from E.L.F., the Dark and Light shades. In the picture I have applied the Dark palette. If purchased alone this kit comes with a brush, but if bought as a pack with their eye stencils you will not receive a brush. The brush is dual ended with one side a small angled brush (for the gel portion) and the other side a fully eyeshadow brush (to apply the powder portion). The beauty of these products is you can really build and shape your brows to the desired look. I go in with the gel first then fill in with the powder, which also will set the gel. As you can see in the picture you can easily make this a natural look, but if you want a full beauty brow then go right ahead. To be honest I am still learning how to pull off that look without looking like a cartoon. This kit alone retails for $3 in most major retailers but also on the E.L.F. website.


So if you want to venture into the brow territory but don’t want to spend a fortune on products then I suggest you look into these two products. They really work and last all day. Neither are waterproof so keep that in mind, but I have no problems with smudging even on the most humid of days. From being a newbie (like myself) to being an eyebrow shaping pro these products are defiantly worth a shot!

As always,
-Nicole

Leave a Reply

