Beauty on a Budget: Facial Masks

DSC_0278 copy2

A lot of people think of facial masks as a total luxury item, and I’m here to tell you that those people are dead wrong. It is time for you to treat yourself to an at home spa experience with Freeman’s Feeling Beautiful Facial Masks. These 6.0 Fl. Oz. face masks retail for $3 to $5 depending on where you buy them. I find that the most options are available at Ulta, but you can also order them online if you do not have an Ulta nearby. These masks also come in individual packets that retail for $2 and can be found at Walmart or online. The three masks I currently have on hand are the Cucumber Peel-Off Mask, the Facial Clay Mask in Avocado & Oatmeal, and finally the Facial Brightening Mask in Golden Grain.

Cucumber Peel-Off Mask: This mask claims to clarify and renew the skin, and is of course by the name a peel off mask meaning that you put it on and wait until it dries then you can peel it off. On the back of the bottle it reads “a super-cooling, skin quenching mask that gently peels away impurities that can cause skin to be rough and dull.”. This masks is meant for people with normal to combination skin. From the start this product does smell like the artificial cucumber smell. If you have ever used a product with cucumber in this is what it smells like. I honestly enjoy the smell and it is not over powering. When you put this clear mask on it instantly feels very cool, which I love about this product. I usually leave it on for 10 minutes, but I would advise no more than 15 minutes. One time I left this on for 20 minutes and the peeling process was quite painful. I do agree with the masks claim that it makes skin softer, but as for the clarifying properties I do not see a real difference. After the mask comes off my skin is super soft and a bit less red. I would give this a 3 out of 5 stars.

Facial Clay Mask: Avocado & Oatmeal: The claim of this mask is to deep clean and purify pores, and man does it! On the back it reads that “…skin looks and feels squeaky clean and is soft to the touch”. Let me say, if your face needs some assistance with a pesky breakout then this is the mask for you! I put this mask on generously around my face and let it harden. The consistency is a thick green color that can be chunky at times, but with a bit of mixing in the palm of your hand you are set. When you look in the mirror and your skin looks like a dry lizard then you know its time to wash off. Id advise washing off in the shower since this mask really likes to stay on and constant running water will help the mask come off a little easier. The smell of this product isn’t exactly one to be desired..to be honest the smell kind of turns me off the the product, but always brings me back after I can immediately see the results. After rinsing off the mask my face is brighter, not red anywhere, clogged pores are gone, pores are much smaller, my face is beyond silky smooth, and overall I just look way better. You can use this everyday if you need to, but it advises 2x a week. Even with the smell I give this product a 5 out of 5.

Facial Brightening Mask: Golden Grain: I want to let you know this mask is my holy grail. This mask claims to both hydrate and brighten your face. It does. It really truly does! The Vitamin C in this product fades dark spots, acne scars, and firms the face. The smell is a little bit light pineapple and is very refreshing. As you pour this mask into your hand for applying you will notice a copious amount of shimmer within the product, do not worry it will wash off when you wash the mask off. I use this every day in the shower when I am not having a breakout, which then id be using the avocado mask. The product says to leave on for 5 to 10 minutes and it does not harden like the avocado mask. This mask just kind of stays the same consistency. Even with just 5 minutes with this mask on your face will look completely different. It really does calm any redness and overtime fade scars. And the brightening properties of this product are out of this world! If you need something to brighten your face and make you look ultra healthy this is the face mask for you! 5 out of 5, hands down.

DSC_0297 copy

The Freeman Feeling Beautiful Masks come in 21 different types, so let me know if you own others! I would love to hear about the other types that you have and how they work for you!

-Nicole

Leave a Reply

